Interview with Author Michael Robertson

I met Michael a few years ago in an online forum for authors and since then, we’ve become good friends.  We’ve shared novel ideas, promotion tips, cover thoughts and everything else that authors do.  I’ve read all his books and short stories and if you are a fan of twisted thoughts and unusual suspects, you are in for a treat.  Below is a brief interview with Michael.  Enjoy…

Michael, you just released your 7th publication, “Kill Game”, can you give us a brief sense of why you love blood and guts so much??  Just teasing, tell us why you like being a horror writer:

 

Horror is the genre I love the most, in terms of reading, so I guess it’s just natural that it’s a genre I enjoy writing in. My first novel REGRET, and some of my shorter stories are more suspense than horror, so I don’t focus solely on horror, but it seems like most of my ideas start there—with a horrific idea. Write what you love. Isn’t that a thing?

 

“Kill Game” is based on a poker game.  I assume you, like I, are an avid poker player?

 

I love poker, but, much like golf, it’s something I don’t get to play nearly as often as I’d like. I wish they’d legalize online gambling in Virginia so I could lose money to strangers on the Internet.

 

In your first book, “Regret”, you wrote it using an alias.  Why was that?

 

It was a marketing tactic, 100% — REGRET is the devastating first-hand account of a successful author’s tale of tragedy, mental deterioration, and murder. It’s written almost like a memoir. Since I was just starting out in my publishing career at the time, I tried to think of ways to make my work stand out, draw interest to it. So I thought, why not make people start to question if REGRET was a true story? It worked. I got lots of emails asking if Dan Dawkins was a real person.

 

I wrote a more detailed blog post about writing as Dan Dawkins here:

http://mrobertsonjr.com/blog-news/2012/1/31/why-i-published-as-dan-dawkins.html

 

 

Jackson, your main character in a few of your publications is a nasty SOB.  What’s in store for him?

 

Yes, Jackson is a nasty SOB. But a ton of fun to write!

 

Jackson always pops up now and again when it comes to story ideas, so I won’t say he’s gone for good, but nothing currently in the works. Maybe later…

 

A few personal questions, if you don’t mind.  How long have you been writing and what first interested you in becoming an author?

 

I’ve been trying my hand at writing novels for about 8 years, but have only been published for 3.

 

I’ve always been a voracious reader, for as long as I can remember (a credit I give to my mother). I remember liking to write stories when I was a younger kid, but it wasn’t until I was about 20 that I finally got the itch to try writing a novel. One day I just decided that it might be fun to tell a story of my own. I wrote the first chapter of my first novel (never to be published) the following weekend, and haven’t really ever looked back.

 

Who are some of your favorite authors to read?

 

I read a ton of things, across lots of genres. But as far as favorites? First and foremost, Stephen King. I also enjoy Harlan Coben, Sandra Brown, Greg Iles, Joe Hill, Chelsea Cain, James Rollins, Michael Crichton, Gillian Flynn, Dean Koontz, Marcus Sakey, George R. R. Martin, Blake Crouch, Karen Slaughter, It goes on and on. I’ve also enjoyed everything you’ve written, Chris. I’m waiting for the next Foxworth Academy.

 

Favorite book(s)?

 

Goodness that’s tough. I’d say, It and The Stand by Stephen King. Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz (Rest of the series is dern good too). Heartsick by Chelsea Cain (and the rest of the series). I’m sure there are many more I’m forgetting, but those are some of the current ones I can think of.

 

Are you a ebook reader, paperback, hardcover or audio book type of reader?

 

I’m probably 70% paper and 30% ebook. I love the convenience and portability of ebooks, not to mention the price, most of the time, but there’s still a bit of old school reader in me that likes holding a book. I’m the guy who wants a library in his house. Usually don’t mess with audio much unless it’s a road trip, but I think it’s a fantastic platform. I have friends who find it hard to sit still and read a book, but still love a good story. Audiobooks give them that.

 

What’s the plan for 2014?

Well, I just released a novella in February called KILL GAME, and then put out short story bundle called TORMENTED THOUGHTS  that includes that story and two of my older ones. I’m currently stirring the pot of a new idea I have for a novel (or maybe multi-part series) that I hope to start writing this week. That’s my priority for now. I’ll also be getting more of my backlist out in audio this year. Maybe even narrating some of them myself! That way everybody can hear my sexy voice.

Thanks for having me over, Chris. Best of luck!

Thanks for your time, Michael.

Find all the books and info about Michael here:

http://www.amazon.com/Michael-Robertson-Jr/e/B006NB4K9W/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_9?qid=1393607943&sr=8-9

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

